Matt’s birthday, madeleines + Barque Smokehouse

This weekend we celebrated Matt’s birthday, which provided a lot of fodder for my very first post here. Because we ate. A lot. Too much, even. But it was good. And I plan to write about it here, and hopefully to continue writing about the things I eat and cook here on a regular basis.

I think about food often; more than I think about most other things, really. Thinking about food makes me excited and passionate, and cooking allows me a creative outlet that results in food, which I can then eat. Which is pretty ideal. It also allows me to bond with other people who love food, like my dad, who I credit as the person who sparked this obsession. Since I’ve finished school and started work full time, I’ve found myself struggling to adjust to the monotony of a 9-5 schedule. That, combined with this wicked, awful winter, has left me needing some other way to be creative, to spend more time thinking about things that make me happy. So I’ve started this blog. Let’s see how it goes.

On to the food.

I ate a lot of meat this weekend. We hit up New Sky Restaurant in Chinatown for dinner with friends on Saturday, and Sunday we tried out Union Social Eatery with Matt’s family, in Mississauga. However, what I really want to talk about (and post pictures of) is Sunday’s breakfast, and tonight’s dinner.

Mads 3

A few weeks ago, I bought my first madeleine pan. It only cost me 8$, but it felt like a splurge. This weekend I brought out my new pan and, using Dorrie Greenspan’s recipe, made my first Madeleines. Though I didn’t make use of Dorrie’s tips to achieve maximum bumpage, I did make my batter the night before and chilled it in the fridge overnight. They turned out beautifully. I got nice big bumps, and they were nice and lemony.

I also brought out the stovetop espresso maker and the french press and made us some nice little cappuccinos (another first for me) to accompany the cookies. It was a good morning.

madeleines espresso

This post is already getting long, but I can’t end it without mentioning tonight’s dinner at Barque Smokehouse, a place we’ve been meaning to visit since moving to the neighbourhood.

We got the platter for two, with dry rubbed ribs, chicken thighs, brisket, squash and brussel sprouts, fries, and smoked cauliflower. It was pretty much so good that I was outraged and could have punched someone. Barque also does brunch. We need to try that next.

Barque 2

Anyway, that’s all I wanted to share tonight. Thanks for reading. I hope you come back!

4 thoughts on “Matt’s birthday, madeleines + Barque Smokehouse

Leave a Reply

